EEA Financial Mechanism 2014-2021, Health

On 3 May 2016, the European Union, the Republic of Iceland, the Principality of Lichtenstein, and the Kingdom of Norway signed an agreement establishing a new mechanism for financial contributions for the period 2014-2021. The new financial mechanism allocating 2.8 billion EUR investments is aimed at reducing economic and social disparities within the European Economic Area (EEA) and strengthening bilateral cooperation between the Donor and Beneficiary States.

On 24 April 2018, Minister of Finance of the Republic of Lithuania Vilius Šapoka and State Secretary of the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs Audun Halvorsen signed a Memorandum of Understanding on several new programmes under the EEA and Norway Grants 2014-2021. The funding allocates 117.6 million EUR for Lithuania, 98% of this being Norway's contribution.

EEA and Norwegian financial mechanism funds allocated to Lithuania will be used to reduce social and economic exclusion, while investments in the Health Programme will be aimed at improving mental health and ensuring the well-being of children and youth at risk.

All relevant information on the progress of the implementation of the EEA Financial Mechanisms 2014-2021 is also available here: https://www.eeagrants.lt/en/home

Last updated: 03-12-2023