header image



All news

RSS Print
TWITTER COVID-19 Update-2.png
2020 11 05
Nationwide lockdown as of Saturday

The Government has decided on Wednesday to introduce a three-week nationwide lockdown. Some businesses will have to halt or reduce their operations, tighter infection control measures will be enforced, and work and education will be arranged with a minimum of contacts.

2020 11 03
Pending lockdown in another 13 municipalities

From 2 November to 8 November, another 13 municipalities have been mapped in the red area: the municipalities of the districts of Prienai, Rietavas, Šalčininkai, the town of Šiauliai, districts of Šilutė, Tauragė, Utena, Varėna, Kaunas, Mažeikiai, Molėtai, Palanga and Panevėžys.

2020 11 03
Red areas spreading: more countries and regions listed as affected

A new list of affected countries compiled against the ‘traffic light’ principle came to effect on Monday, November 2.  More European countries and regions have found themselves in the red and grey areas that are subject to the requirements for mandatory isolation or testing for coronavirus (COVID-19): Cyprus, Estonia, Germany, Sweden, all the Italian regions, the ...

2020 10 29
Temporary restrictions on events and gatherings in public places

Given the deteriorating epidemiological situation in the country, the Government has taken a decision in its Wednesday sitting to impose restrictions on events and gatherings organised in public places from 30 October to 13 November 2020.

2020 10 27
Another eight municipalities put under quarantine

Given the deteriorating epidemiological situation in the country, local quarantine coming into effect on 28 October 2020, 00:00, and lasting until 11 November 2020, 24:00, has been introduced in eight more municipalities: the city municipalities of Kaunas, Klaipėda and Vilnius and the district municipalities of Šilalė, Širvintos, Telšiai, Trakai and Vilnius. Additional restrictions ...

2020 10 27
This is the first time the list of affected countries has been updated following the ‘traffic light’ principle.

As of Monday, October 26th. a new list of affected countries compiled following the ‘traffic light’ principle has come to effect.  Lithuania, along with the neighbouring Latvia and Estonia, as well as Norway, Denmark, Finland and Cyprus, have found themselves in the orange area. This means that ...

2020 10 26
New requirements for isolation

Following the Council Recommendation on a coordinated approach to the restriction of free movement in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, and mapping of the countries according to their epidemiological situation, Lithuania finds itself in the orange area (according to the traffic light principle) and, as of Monday, 26 October, it will apply prevention measures only to arrivals from countries in the red and ...

2020 10 26
Quarantine may be introduced in another 8 municipalities in Lithuania: the country’s major cities have been included in the red zone

From 26 October to 1 November inclusive, based on the new traffic light system, eight more municipalities of the country have been included in the red zone: Vilnius, Kaunas, and Klaipėda City Municipalities, as well as Vilnius, Širvintos, Šilalė, Trakai, and Telšiai District ...

2020 10 22
Official: traffic light system for countries

In line with the recommendations approved by the European Council, at its meeting on Wednesday the Government decided on the criteria to be applied at the national level, based on which all the countries of the European Union would be divided into four groups according to the traffic light principle. Based on the criteria, the risk will be assessed, the list of the affected countries ...

2020 10 22
Approved: from now on, municipalities will be classified under the traffic light colour code based on the incidence of coronavirus

In line with the recommendations of international organizations, at Wednesday’s meeting, the Government approved the classification of municipalities into three colour zones based on epidemiological indicators – green, yellow, and red. Municipalities in the red zone may be subject ...

erik-odiin-jbQvJx2EWnU-unsplash (1).jpg
2020 10 20
Updated list of affected countries and isolation requirements upon arrival

The Ministry cautions the country’s population planning to travel to Italy, Bulgaria and Liechtenstein. On Friday, October 16, these countries were added to the list of countries affected by coronavirus (COVID-19) infection, as their coronavirus (COVID-19) incidence rate was more than 10% higher than that of Lithuania. Arrivals from or transits through ...

2020 10 12
Updated list of affected countries: some countries removed from the list due to methodological changes

As of Monday, 12 October, isolation will no longer be required for arrivals from Estonia, Bulgaria, Greece, Italy, Norway, Germany, Faeroe Islands and another 14 countries. Changes in the list of affected countries have been the result of the introduction of a new principle for listing. From now on, the list will ...

per page